Books that Stick

image

I remember watching the Disney version of Beauty and the Beast and being completely enamored by the Beasts library. I was around 4 or 5 at the time and even had a Beauty and the Beast themed birthday party. I wanted that library. So bad. I was also an avid “Reading Rainbow” fan. And belonged to the Pizza Hut Book Club. XD

The first book I ever remember reading was a Box Car Childrens book. It was my first chapter book and I had gotten it from my P.E. teacher who encouraged reading by giving out books as rewards. I was a goner from there. I read Animorphs, everything by Judy Blume. I am a first Gen Potter head. (I had to WAIT for the books and was the same age as Harry with each book release). But what books really stuck with me through the years?

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls. My 5th grade teacher read it to us as a class and I reread it every so years and still bawl like a baby.

Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel. I was 13 when my mom handed me a copy and the next 2 in the series. Yes, a 13 year old probably wouldn’t have a good idea about rape but it solidified my love for historical fiction.

LOTR and The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein. My Gma had copies and we had a 60’s set that I devoured. I have since replaced my copies and I read them every few years.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. I was in 6th grade when I read this. Our school participated in an Accelerated Reading Program and I was the only one brave enough to read it to get all the points. I loved it and loved the red headed Anne and her misadventures.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. I mentioned being a first gen Potter nerd. First editions for my Birthday and then going to see the movies. I always donate a copy around Christmas. Because HP changed my childhood into something magical. And I’m still waiting on my Hogwarts letter.

I could make an endless list of books that changed me. The Belgarid and The Mallorian by David Eddings. Douglas Adams. Black Beauty. But then I might start rambling.

image

I got lucky. My parents always encouraged my reading. It kept me quiet and it occupied my time. It let me live many lives and escape the turmoils of the world around me and embrace a world of literature. As an adult, I have well over 300 paper books in my apartment and about 400 on my kindle. (Yes, I read both.)

Nothing makes me happier than spending time with a good book, a lap cat and a cup of tea. 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

