The Importance of Libraries

image

I volunteer once a week at my local library. For 2 hours, every Wednesday morning, I disappear into the stacks, fondle and smell books and make the shelves look pretty. It also gives me an opportunity to see books I typically wouldn’t look at and I usually bring home a pile. I started volunteering because I was at a very bad point in my life. I hated my job working food service. My anxiety was keeping me house ridden, and I wasn’t reading. I was depressed and suicidal and volunteering made me happy.

Why are libraries so important? First and foremost: the access of resources. Free internet. Printing. Copy machines. Essentially information. Librarians are like Google of the book world. Anything you ever wanted to know or learn can come from your library. It allows access to those who don’t have the resources to have them. Homeless. Less fourtunate. Etc.

Community: most libraries offer free community programs to attend. Book groups. Arts and crafts. Author visits. Childrens Story Circles. Crafting. Gaming. Knitting. They usually have a little something for everyone.

Free: READING. God knows I can support my habit otherwise, right? Unlimited access to the written word. For free.

E Lending: Heard of Overdrive? Instant access to e books, audiobooks, etc and you don’t even need to leave your house. Instant download to the device of your choosing. No late fees. You only need a library card. Which is free.

With a library card, you can open a door to an endless stream of information.

For an avid reader like me, the library gives me ability to read new books, old books and learn. It’s warm. Comfortable. And feels like home.

Take advantage of the services your library has to offer. 🙂

image

Standard

Leave a Reply

