A book is a book is a book….

image

And the importance of used book stores.

I am an avid reader. But usually can’t afford the chunk of change required for a brand spanking new book. A couple of years ago, I invested in a kindle because I didn’t have access to all my books and I was damned if I couldn’t read my favorites.

So yes, I have an e-reader. And yes, I still buy “real” books. I have 7 bookshelves in my 1 bedroom apartment bursting at the brim.

I will admit, my kindle is a space saver. I tend to buy newer books that way due to lack of shelf space and the price. The only time I buy brand new fresh off the press is if it’s an author that is already on my shelf and I need a full set.

I also frequent used bookstores. I’m able to replace favorites, discover new books, and all that for half the price. (The picture above is my Goodwill haul. Sookie Stackhouse complete!) Nothing makes me happier than giving a once loved book a good home. Even if I have a kindle.

There is an argument that reading a screen isn’t the same as reading a book. (I’ve read articles to this effect) And I beg to differ. I can get just as lost reading my kindle as I do with a real book. Plus, my kindle allows me to cart around 400 books with the touch of a button.

What about Audio books? Still technically reading. When I was working 2 jobs, audio books were the only way I could read. I listened to the entirety of Les Miserables because I couldn’t finish the book. Luckily, my job was one where I could tune out the world and focus on my actual job. Audio books are good for people who lead busy lives and just can’t find time for sitting down.

So whether you prefer paper, a screen, or listening, all of these methods equal one thing: YOUR STILL READING. Just because it’s a different format, doesn’t mean a thing. The words are there, just the presentation differs.

Happy reading folks!

Standard

Leave a Reply

