Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

☆☆☆/5
Genre: YA
15/Clearly not 40 THE GREAT READING BINGE OF 2016

I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extroidinary things began to happen. The first of these came as a terrible shock, and like anything that changes you forever, split my life into halves: Before and After.

image

I recently saw the trailer for the movie that they’re making and figured I’d give this one another go. I tried to read it 5 or so years ago and thought it was some creepy story involving children that I didn’t need to read.

So…this is the story of a young boy who falls into peculiar circumstances after the mysterious murder of his grandfather. Growing up, Grandpa Abe would tell him fairy tales of a magical house with magical children where he was sent to live during the war. After Grandpa Abe passes away, Jakob and his father head to a tiny island in Wales to discover the truth. Darkness clouds the fairy tales and Jakob is pulled into an adventure of sorts, while he battles monsters long forgotten.

I neither liked nor disliked this book. I felt it lacked in places where the author seemed to skip over and it was a tad creepy in parts. It just didn’t wow me in a way that makes me want to keep reading the series. Apparently the author based this story around vintage photographs that he collected and it made the story disjointed. I found the character development poor and Jakob lacked any development what so ever.

What did I like about this book? The plot was original. It just needed buffing up.

If you read it and liked it, hurrah! I just don’t think it was a book I could like. 🙂

We cling to our fairy tales until the price for believing them is too high.

Standard

Leave a Reply

