This Song Will Save Your Life

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

☆☆☆/5

18/Clearly not 40 THE GREAT READING BINGE OF 2016
Genre: YA Fiction

image

This was a book that kinda sat in the middle for me. I wanted to like it, it had a good plot but I couldn’t help but find it a bit lacking.

Elsie-named after a Cure Song- is a nobody. No friends. No future. No plan. Etc. She starts off her freshman year trying to fit in. Unsuccessfully which results in a botched suicide attempt. She didn’t actually want to die but she kinda sorta did. She walks at night and comes across a nightclub that plays punk dance music and becomes enamored with the act of DJ’ing. And the DJ himself. She finds herself in music.

This had SO MUCH potential but fell short for me. It seemed too simply written with little to no heart. Elsie had so much room for character development but I found her a tad stuck up and whiny. Yes, she pretty much sums up what an introvert is but spent alot of time wanting normalcy. I wanted to bang my head into a wall over it. I like the fact that music can be seen as a way of coping. I just felt the author could have done better.

So it was okay. Potential but falls short. I understand music to help the soul but the author did a poor job of making that connection. What could have been beautiful simply didn’t add up.

Standard

Leave a Reply

