Wishful Drinking

Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher

☆☆☆☆/5
Genre: Memior
20/Clearly not 40 THE GREAT READING BINGE OF 2016

image

I do this because I find that I frequently feel better about myself when I discover we’re not alone, but there are in fact a number of people who ail as we do.

I picked this up because I’ve had it in my wishlist forever and I found it at the library the other day and I’m glad I read it.

Carrie Fisher is the result of Hollywood inbreeding and found her fame with the little franchise Star Wars, staring alongside little known actors Mark Hamilton and Harrison Ford. This is her memior about her addictions to opiates, alcohol and her journey of recovery and what it was like seeing your likeness on a PEZ dispenser. She goes into great detail about her manic depressive episodes and what it means for her to be bipolar.

Happy is one of the many things I’m likely to be over the course of the day and certainly over the course of a lifetime. But I think if you have the expectation that your going to be happy throughout your life- more to the point, if you need to be comfortable all the time- well, among other things, you have the makings of a classic drug addict or alcoholic.

And this one:

Mind expanders and pain killers. (Though over time and protracted use, their meanings got jumbled until they became mind relievers and pain expanders- a place where everything hurt and nothing made sense.)

I found this book funny (but a bit raunchy) and it was nice not to feel so alone. I myself experience dark depressive episodes and she made it fun. It read kinda like an AA speaker meeting and was just like someone telling their story. Yes, she went crazy. But she got better.

I highly recommend this book. 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

