Celebrating Reading

image

I have reached an important part in a Book Worms life. That moment when you register 500 ‘Read’ books on Goodreads. I felt this deserved a celebration of sorts (complete with a cake) and a speech.

I have been a registered Goodreads user since September of 2010. I didn’t actually start using it as a tool (thanks to life and circumstances) until 2011/2012. I think I started my first challenge in 2013. And have participated every year since. This a journey that started with The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling and ended with Shockaholick by Carrie Fisher.

2010 to 2016. My life in 6 years. In that time frame I moved 3 times, adopted 2 cats, and worked 3 different jobs. I gained a Kindle and upgraded just last year to a Paperwhite. I started volunteering at the library and joined the best online book group ever (which I am an admin of and am in charge of Book Bingo). Through this group, I met many close friends who I couldn’t live without. And got recommended so many books that I have to come to love. So thank you Kimberly and Nina, my fellow admins, and all of my lovely patrons. Without the Library, I might be a bit lonely.

The Journey:

Of course, through the course of my 28.5 years on this earth, I’ve read alot more than 500 books. In the time before Goodreads, it remains uncharted territory. So I’ll just talk a bit about the books I did read/discover.

In the last 6 years, I have discovered Cassandra Clare, Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, Rainbow Rowell, Jim Butcher, Jasper Fforde, and Diana Galbradon. I have done serial reading, stand alones, classics, ranging from erotica to anything YA. (I really dislike Erotica just so you know). I have reread a few of my timeless favorites, such as Harry Potter and The Belgarid/Mallorean by David Eddings. And Jane Eyre, which was an important book to me my senior year of High School.

In this time, I tackled Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. Believe me, it was a beast. I ended up audio booking the damn thing. I also read some of the worst books in my life, which includes the 50 Shades series, Stranger in a Strange Land (I’m so sorry Kae, I wanted to love it), Beautiful You by Chuck Palichunik, and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. I generally like what I read and duds get abandoned pretty quickly. I also read some of the best, life altering books of my life.

Reading Challenges

Being the person I am, I couldn’t pass this topic up as it is an important part of my reading. I was one of those kids who belonged to the Pizza Hut kids group, participated in Library Summer Reading, and book fairs were like Christmas. I was an avid watcher of Reading Rainbow and received my first library card at 4. I was an early starter (my brother was 2 grades above me) so I learned to read and write before Kindergarten. I read my first chapter book in the 3rd grade. The Box Car Children’s #13. I had received it from my P.E. teacher who encouraged reading. So from a young age, I appreciated a challenge. Nothing was off limits. I would tackle hours, books, etc. Call me an overachiever.

image

2015 KRL Summer Reading. ๐Ÿ˜›

Goodreads challenges are a blast and I usually shoot for over 100 (this year is 150) and I’ve met every single one. I participate in Bingo, my Book Groups seasonal challenges, and anything that gets me to read MORE. Or diversify my reading. Yes, as of June 1st, I’ll be MIA as I really want my Tshirt again this year.

image

The People

There are a few people I’d like to thank as part of my reading journey.

image

My grandparents. Who never said no to books and letting me watch Reading Rainbow. And for taking me to the library. And Harry Potter (both the books and the movies). And especially to my Gpa for the pizza/book dates we do. ๐Ÿ™‚

image

My dad who never discouraged my reading. And for buying me that Alphabet/Letter book when I was 5. You taught me to be the best person I could be. And opened worlds to me through reading.

image

And lastly, my husband/SO/Cat Dad. He puts up with the books scattered everywhere, he let me have my book nook, and doesn’t complain much if I disappear for a few hours. XD Much. He even let’s me display my books. ๐Ÿ™‚

Celebrate Reading

Lastly, celebrate reading. Encourage others to read. Even if it’s one book or hundreds. I give you the tip of my imaginary hat. Encourage all ages to read. Books, magazines, the newspaper, etc. Just. Read. Participate in local library programs and take advantage of the free reading and services they offer. I couldn’t support my habit other wise.

Out of all the things I could have turned out to be, I’m glad I’m a reader. I am free to discover new worlds, old worlds and best of all, walk in Narnia, attend Hogwarts, discover the London Underground, and talk with the characters. Be whoever you want to be. Just open a book.

image

Standard

One thought on “Celebrating Reading

  1. coffestainsblog says:

    Congratulations!! That’s an impressive milestone! I’m still only at 200 myself and that not including books before Good reads. I hope to one day read as many as you did! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

Leave a Reply

