Postcards from the Edge

Postcards from the Edge by Carrie Fisher

☆☆☆/5
THE GREAT READING BINGE OF 2016
Genre: Fiction

image

I looked at the charred, twisted metal and thought, ‘Finally, my outsides match my insides.’

Suzanne Vale is a Hollywood socialite and actress who finds herself in rehab after overdosing and having her stomach pumped. She calculates the first 30 days, her adventure into sobriety, and finding herself without the drugs. The other part of the story follows after Alex, a screenwriter addicted to cocaine and his rock bottom revelation.

Carrie Fisher is able to deliver a world into depression that makes sense and is relatable. She gives hope to the masses through witty retort and let’s us know it’s not the end of the world.

I guess when you find yourself having overdosed, it’s a good indication your life isn’t working. Still, it wasn’t like I planned it. I’m not suicidal. My behavior might be, but I’m certainly not.

I do not do drugs, but I have the mind of an addict/alcoholic.

I highly recommend everything she’s written.

Standard

Leave a Reply

