All My Puny Sorrows 

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews
☆☆☆☆/5

THE GREAT READING BINGE OF 2016

Genre: Fiction

Trigger Warning: Suicide 

…about the days constantly coming around, over and over, the sun rises, the birds begin to sing, there is a moment of possibility, of excruciating hope, and then it is over, things darken, the day is simply another tease. There is no delivery from the torment of the days.

First and foremost, this is a book about the suicide of a loved one. When loving them, and asking them to hold on isn’t enough. 
Yolinda loves her sister, Elfridiea, dearly. Yoli and Elf. The train wreck and the anarchist prodigy piano player. Elf has attempted to take her life on several occasions because the depression plauges her and theatens to break the fragile glass piano inside of her. Yoli begs her, pleads, guilts her sister into trying to find the hope to live. And it wasn’t enough. 
This book was hard for me on many many levels. Emotionally draining, I had to take several breaks and did cry during many points of the story. The only issue I had was the lack of conversational quotations. I understand why the author didn’t use them, but it was a bit confunding in parts where everything sounded a bit rambly. But, as you know, art. It was done in first person so it was much like Yoli was having inner turmoil through the whole book.
This book was beautiful and heart wrenching. Which is why I included the trigger warning. I also called my sister to say I loved her.

Standard

Leave a Reply

